Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

About AIPA

About AIPA


  One Vision | One Identity | One Community

Establishment of AIPA

§  The ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly (AIPA) is a regional parliamentary organization. It was originally formed on September 2, 1977 as the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Organization (AIPO) by the leaders of the parliamentary delegations of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand attending the Third ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Conference in Manila, Philippines. In 1995, Viet Nam became a member, followed by Lao People's Democratic Republic in 1997, Cambodia in 1999, and Brunei Darussalam in 2009. At the 27th AIPO General Assembly held in Cebu City, Philippines in 2006, there was a consensus to transform the organization into a more effective and closely integrated institution and to change the organization's name from AIPO to AIPA.

 What Is AIPA?

§  AIPA stands for ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly. It serves as the center of communication and information among Member Parliaments which consist of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and VietNam. AIPA aims to encourage understanding, cooperation, and close relations among Member Parliaments as well as Observer Member Parliaments and other parliamentary organizations. AIPA also plays instrumental role in familiarizing the peoples of Southeast Asia with policies aimed at accelerating the realization of an ASEAN Community in 2015.

About AIPA